The Tumeric/Haldi Latte: A Review

Haldi latte

So, after all of the hype from  Indian media the last few days about this latest San Francisco barista craze, I had to try it.

This new trend  also happens to be the cold remedy for millions of Indians, including my Mother-in-law, and has a long history in India for treating sore throats. I was told when I was living in India back in 2005 that if I would drink a version of this concoction at the onset of a cold, it would stop the cold from progressing. The tumeric and pepper coat the throat, and after drinking it you’re not supposed to drink anything else for 30 minutes. It does seem to have benefits when I’m not feeling well, but until now, I’ve never considered making it into a latte or related type of beverage. I’ve always just crushed a teaspoon of peppercorn and mixed it with a teaspoon of turmeric and 1/2 cup of warmed milk. Over the years I’ve grown to like the sharp taste of the tumeric combined with the pepper, but confess, that I gagged the first time I ever tried it.

The latte is a much improved upon variation, and one I may just happily enjoy as an afternoon alternative to herbal teas.

Ingredients:
1 teaspoon haldi/tumeric
1 teaspoon fresh cut ginger
1 teaspoon coconut oil
5 Black peppercorns
A sprinkle of cinnamon
A pinch of sea salt
Honey to taste
1 cup milk of your choice

How to make:
Heat milk on a stovetop.
Grind all other ingredients in a coffee grinder with a touch of water.
When milk begins to boil mix ingredients together. Stir or use a milk frother until it reaches your desired consistency.

Pour and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

